h1

through the rain

September 1, 2005

The recent discussion of the 1968 National Day Parade is killing me. It is absolutely fucking murdering me. It is cracking me up with derisive laughter. I mean, you (yes YOU, as in the general rude in-your-face YOU that was addressed at the National Day Rally, which really was very redolent of a grade-school show-and-tell session) build a nation, and the defining moment of the national process was…

… standing in a parade, in the rain.

Hello, can anyone say 1789? Can anyone say World War II? Can anyone say the Arab-Israeli conflict? Can anyone say pogroms? Can anyone say the vast ideologies of the twentieth century that held imagined cultural and political entities together, no matter how spuriously?

Please. It’s not like surviving the bloody holocaust. If this is the central event of nation-building, then we (YOU, actually, I’m not part of this shit) are just bloody screwed as a nation. I mean, c’mon. It is really a Mariah Carey song.

I can make it through the rain
I can stand up once again
On my own
And I know
That I’m strong enough to mend

And every time I feel afraid
I hold tighter to my faith
And I live
One more day
And I make it through the rain.

It’s also very Bobby Darin as re-imagined by LaToya London:

Who told you you could rain on my paraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaade!

What in bloody blazes? No wonder Singaporeans have no sense, no absolute bloody sense of perspective. This island is a pimple on the face of the earth, and yet has an ego the size of Texas (and all the people who come from Texas, including dear George Bush). Singaporeans get flustered when others think their country lies somewhere in China – poor dears! And then this piece of fabricated nonsensical shit comes up and proves to every bloody one that really, Singapore isn’t that important after all – bad weather on a parade? And while we’re at that, can Singaporeans answer the following questions?

1) In what state is Nashville?
2) Who is the US’s latest Supreme Court Justice?
3) Which Eastern European country was recently witness to a massacre of its own citizens?
4) Who is gunning for the post of Gerhard Schroeder?
5) What did France recently say no to?

So really, if Singaporeans can’t answer these questions, as I’m sure they can’t, since the Straits Times is, like the island itself, a piece of perspectiveless shit, then really, they shouldn’t complain if others think that their country lies in the heart of mainland China.

Leave a Reply

